

**PRESS RELEASE** 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October II, 2018 Contact: Russell Luna 469.524.1009 / russell@Bigl2Sports.com

## **Baylor Selected as Preseason Favorite in WBB Poll**

Irving, Texas -- Baylor has been selected as the preseason favorite for the eighth time in Conference history to win the Big I2 women's basketball regular season title in 2018-19 in a vote of the league's head coaches.

The Lady Bears were also picked at the top of the preseason rankings in 2006, 2009-13 and 2016-17. They have won or tied for nine regular-season crowns, including the last eight, as well as captured the 2018 Phillips 66 Big 12 Women's Basketball Championship trophy.

Baylor received eight of IO first-place votes (coaches are not allowed to vote for their own teams). Second-place Texas received the other two firstplace votes, while West Virginia was chosen third. TCU and Oklahoma rounded out the top five. Iowa State was picked sixth, while Oklahoma State was seventh and K-State was eighth, followed by Kansas and Texas Tech.

The 2018-19 season gets underway on Tuesday, November 6 with three non-conference games. League action begins on Wednesday, January 2. The Big I2 Tipoff event is set for Tuesday, Oct. 16, in Dallas at St. Philip's School and Community Center.

## 2018-19 Big 12 Conference Women's Basketball Preseason Poll

1.	Baylor (8)	80
2.	Texas (2)	72
3.	West Virginia	65
4.	тси	49
5.	Oklahoma	47
6.	lowa State	44
7.	Oklahoma State	34
8.	K-State	29
9.	Kansas	21
10.	Texas Tech	9

(first place votes in parentheses; coaches not allowed to vote for their own team)

## Preseason Poll History

Preseason Poll History		
Season	Preseason Selection	Big 12 Champion
1996-97	Poll Not Conducted	Kansas
1997-98	Texas Tech	Texas Tech
1998-99	Kansas	Texas Tech
1999-00	Iowa State	Iowa State, Texas Tech, Oklahoma
2000-01	Iowa State	Oklahoma
2001-02	Oklahoma	Oklahoma
2002-03	Texas Tech	Texas
2003-04	Texas	Texas, Kansas State
2004-05	Texas	Baylor
2005-06	Baylor	Oklahoma
2006-07	Oklahoma	Texas A&M, Oklahoma
2007-08	Texas A&M	Kansas State
2008-09	Oklahoma	Oklahoma
2009-10	Baylor	Nebraska
2010-11	Baylor	Baylor
2011-12	Baylor	Baylor
2012-13	Baylor	Baylor
2013-14	Oklahoma	Baylor, West Virginia
2014-15	Texas	Baylor
2015-16	Baylor	Baylor
2016-17	Baylor	Baylor
2017-18	Poll Not Conducted	Baylor