



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 10, 2021

Contact: Russell Luna 469.524.1009 / russell@Bigl2Sports.com

2020-21 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Women's Basketball Awards Announced

Irving, Texas – Student-athletes from Baylor, Iowa State and Oklahoma State, in addition to Cowgirls head coach Jim Littell, were honored with individual accolades for the 2020-21 Phillips 66 Big I2 Women's Basketball Awards.

For a second-straight season, a Baylor student-athlete was awarded Big I2 Player of the Year. NaLyssa Smith is the ninth Lady Bear to earn that distinction and the third in the last four seasons. The junior is averaging I7.2 points (9th in Big I2) and 9.2 rebounds per game (4th in Big I2), which both rank in the top-I0 in the Big I2. A native of Converse Texas, Smith has recorded nine double-doubles and is second in the Conference with a 53.3 field goal percentage. Smith is one of II semifinalists for the Naismith Trophy, a finalist for the Katrina McClain Award and on the national ballot for the Wooden Award.

Oklahoma State's Natasha Mack joins Brittney Martin (2016) as one of just two Cowgirls to win Defensive Player of the Year honors. The senior from Lufkin, Texas, is the nation's top shot blocker with 4.04 blocks per game. She also ranks in the top IO nationally in multiple categories: third in double-doubles (16), fourth in defensive rebounds per game (9.2), fourth in field goals made (204), fourth in rebounds (296) and eighth in rebounds per game (12.3). Earlier in the season, she recorded a rare triple-double with 28 points, I7 rebounds and IO blocks. Mack is a semifinalist for the Naismith Defensive Player of the Year, a finalist for the Katrina McClain Award and on the national ballot for the Naismith Trophy.

Littell was recognized as the Coach of the Year for the second time in his career after earning the award in 2016. Entering the season, the Cowgirls were predicted to finish eighth in the Big I2 but ended the regular season tied for second in the league with the most Big I2 wins in program history (I3).

lowa State's Lexi Donarski is the first Cyclone in 23 years to earn Freshman of the Year (Megan Taylor won the award in 1998). The freshman is averaging a league-leading I3.I points per game, while averaging 3.32 rebounds and 2.0 assists per contest. The guard was recognized as Big I2 Freshman of the Week five times this season.

Baylor's DiJonai Carrington was selected as the Big I2's Newcomer of the Year and Sixth Player Award winner. The graduate transfer came off the bench in 22 of 23 games to rank second on the team with I3.3 points per game. She averaged 4.9 rebounds per game and dished out 43 assists and picketed 42 steals. The Stanford transfer shot 44.5% from the field, while hitting at 32.3% from three-point range.

Six student-athletes picked up unanimous All-Big I2 First Team honors: Charli Collier (Texas), Kysre Gondrezick (West Virginia), Ashley Joens (Iowa State), Natasha Mack (Oklahoma State), NaLyssa Smith (Baylor) and Madi Williams (Oklahoma),

In addition to Mack, Charli Collier (Texas), Lauren Heard (TCU), DiDi Richards (Baylor) and Moon Ursin (Baylor) were selections to the Big I2 All-Defensive Team.

Joining Donarski on the All-Freshman Team were: Ioanna Chatzileonti (Kansas), Taylen Collins (Oklahoma State), Lexy Keys (Oklahoma State), Emily Ryan (Iowa State) and Nevaeh Tot (Oklahoma).

The All-Big I2 honors were chosen by head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

2020-21 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Awards

Coach of the Year: Jim Littell, Oklahoma State (10th season at Oklahoma State, 10th overall)

Player of the Year: NaLyssa Smith, Baylor, F, 6-2, Jr., Converse, Texas

Defensive Player of the Year: Natasha Mack, Oklahoma State, F, 6-4, Sr., Lufkin, Texas **Newcomer of the Year:** DiJonai Carrington, Baylor, G, 5-II, Gr., San Diego, Calif.**

Freshman of the Year: Lexi Donarski, Iowa State, G, 6-0, La Crosse, Wis.**
Sixth Player Award: DiJonai Carrington, Baylor, G, 5-II, Gr., San Diego, Calif.**

All-Big 12 First Team (honors listed alphabetical by school)

Player	School	Pos	Ht	CI	<u>Hometown</u>
NaLyssa Smith+**	Baylor	F	6-2	Jr.	Converse, Texas
Ashley Joens+**	Iowa State	G/F	6-0	Jr.	Iowa City, Iowa
Ayoka Lee+	Kansas State	С	6-6	So.	Byron, Minn.
Madi Williams**	Oklahoma	G/F	6-0	Jr.	Fort Worth, Texas
Natasha Mack%**	Oklahoma State	F	6-4	Sr.	Lufkin, Texas
Lauren Heard+	TCU	G	5-9	Sr.	Denton, Texas
Charli Collier+**	Texas	F/C	6-5	Jr.	Mont Belvieu, Texas
Vivian Gray+^	Texas Tech	G	6-1	Sr.	Argyle, Texas
Kysre Gondrezick**	West Virginia	G	5-9	R-Sr.	Benton Harbor, Mich.
Esmery Martinez	West Virginia	F	6-2	So.	Hato Mayor Del Ray, D.R.

All-Big 12 Second Team

Player	School	Pos	Ht	CI	<u>Hometown</u>
DiDi Richards%	Baylor	G	6-1	Sr.	Cypress, Texas
Moon Ursin	Baylor	G	5-6	Sr.	Destrehan, La.
Kristin Scott>	Iowa State	F/C	6-3	Sr.	Kasson, Minn.
Taylor Robertson	Oklahoma	G	5-7	Jr.	McPherson, Kan.
Ja'Mee Asberry	Oklahoma State	G	5-5	R-Jr.	Tulsa, Okla.

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention

DiJonai Carrington (Baylor), Queen Egbo (Baylor), Holly Kersgieter (Kansas), Christianna Carr (Kansas State), JoAnne Allen-Taylor (Texas), Kyra Lambert (Texas), Celeste Taylor (Texas), Kirsten Deans (West Virginia), Kari Niblack (West Virginia).

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Player	School	Pos	Ht	CI	<u>Hometown</u>
DiDi Richards+ [^]	Baylor	G	6-1	Sr.	Cypress, Texas
Moon Ursin	Baylor	G	5-6	Sr.	Destrehan, La.
Natasha Mack^**	Oklahoma State	F	6-4	Sr.	Lufkin, Texas
Lauren Heard	TCU	G	5-9	Sr.	Denton, Texas
Charli Collier	Texas	F/C	6-5	Jr.	Mont Belvieu, Texas

^{**} Unanimous Selection (coaches cannot vote for own players, unanimous denotes selected for team on other nine ballots)

Big 12 All-Freshman Team

Player	School	Pos	Ht	CI.	<u>Hometown</u>
Lexi Donarski**	Iowa State	G	6-0	Fr.	La Crosse, Wis.
Emily Ryan**	Iowa State	G	5-11	Fr.	Claflin, Kan.
Ioanna Chatzileonti	Kansas	F	6-2	Fr.	Athens, Greece
Nevaeh Tot	Oklahoma	G	5-3	Fr.	McKinney, Texas
Taylen Collins	Oklahoma State	F	6-1	Fr.	Muldrow, Okla.
Lexy Keys	Oklahoma State	G	5-7	Fr.	Tahlequah, Okla.

 ${\it Tie~in~voting~resulted~in~a~six-person~All-Freshman~Team}$

^{**} Unanimous First Team Selection (coaches cannot vote for own players, unanimous denotes voted first team by other nine coaches)

^{+ 2019-20} All-Big I2 First Team Selection

^{% 2019-20} All-Big I2 Second Team Selection

^{^ 2018-19} All-Big 12 First Team Selection

> 2018-19 All-Big I2 Second Team Selection

^{^ 2019-20} Big I2 All-Defensive Team Selection

^{+ 2018-19} Big I2 All-Defensive Team Selection

^{**} Unanimous Selection (coaches cannot vote for own players, unanimous denotes selected for team on other nine ballots)